Top Northern Jewish Cricket League award shared


Simon Williams and Akiva Lieberman are the joint winners of the Northern Jewish Cricket League’s Senior Player of the Year.

The top junior award went to Andrew Williams.

The accolades were presented at the league’s AGM where chairman Jonny Wineberg, the Vice-President of the Jewish Representative Council, stepped down after four years. Steven Glicher, the co-captain of South Manchester Jewish, is the league’s new chairman.

Wineburg said: “The league can, I believe, look forward to continued success in 2010. The merger of Salford and Sedgley Park should see them being able to put out full sides each week and there are rumours of Maccabi being able to put out two sides. The Grassroots Grants funding will help bolster the running of the League and give impetus to arrange more Under 16s and Under 14s fixtures as well as more Senior representative matches.

More than £1,000 was raised for Lancashire spinner Gary Keedy’s benefit year and the charities he is supporting during the evening. He was the guest of honour.

Northern Jewish Cricket League Awards: Huddy Saltzer, Elliot Koffman (hat-tricks), Simon Williams (centurion), South Spitfires (Super Sixes), Adam Goldstone (Super Sixes Player of the Tournament), Steven Allweis (Representative Team Man of the Match)), Steven Allweis, Huddy Lieberman (Maccabiah representatives), Manchester Maccabi (Twenty/20 Winners), Manchester Maccabi (Cup Winners Medals and Harry Cowan Memorial Trophy), Tony Gellman (Cup Man of the Match), South Manchester (League Winners), Harry Rosenblum (David Bloomberg Memorial Sportsmanship), Jonny Lieberman (Chairman's Award for Outstanding Contribution to the League)

Share via

Want more from the JC?

To continue reading, we just need a few details...

Want more from
the JC?

To continue reading, we just
need a few details...

Get the best news and views from across the Jewish world Get subscriber-only offers from our partners Subscribe to get access to our e-paper and archive