Maccabi cricket cup final preview


Belmont & Edgware will be looking to go one better when they take on MAL in the final of the Maccabi Knockout Cup on Sunday.

Captained by Warren Averbuch, BECC were beaten by London Maccabi Vale in last year’s final. but having recently clinched promotion from the Middlesex Sunday League Division Three, Averbuch is confident his big guns will fire at London Colney CC.


“I feel that I have been able to select a team full of depth and experience,” said Averbuch. “I expect the match to be a very tight affair with MAL providing an extremely testing opposition.

“If we are able to play to our strengths and perform on the day, we have the ability to lift the trophy.”

The departure of all-rounder Richie Wienburg, who recently moved to Australia, comes as a blow but Averbuch has tipped “excellent young batsman” Alex Goodman, along with veterans Jonathan Feigenbaum and Neil Myeroff to shine.

MAL start the match as strong favourites. Led by Gabriel Lebens, they have a powerful batting order with Russ Corin, Grant Pakter, Yoav Lebens and Landau looking formidable, although their strength probably lies in their bowling attack.

A battery of quality seamers includes Josh Burke whose pace is an obvious threat. Yoav Lebens, Oscar Brodkin, Yoni Schurder, Jon Begner, Kev Venter, Grant Pakter – all have lively pace and move the ball about.

But they are not all about pace with slower options provided by Charlie Sherrard, Michael Klinger and captain Lebens. The squad looks very strong, even without the services of left arm spinner Grant Traub.

Looking ahead to Sunday, vice-captain Landau said: “We are taking nothing for granted. 2011 has been a very successful season, with the Middlesex Sunday Cricket League Division 2 title secured.

"Having not played since August 29 due to the weather, it would be nice to get some sunshine and a good game of cricket, and to cap it off with lifting the cup.”

BECC: Warren Averbuch (capt), Michael Blasebalk (wkt), Dan Abrahams, Alex Goodman, Ashley Connick, Jonathan Feigenbaum, Daniel Geey, Stuart Davis, David Kaplan, Neil Myeroff, Gideon Restan. 12th man: Adam Jacobs

MAL: Gabriel Lebens (capt), Mark Landau, Yoav Lebens, Grant Pakter, Kevin Venter, Pinty Baddiel, Charlie Sherrard, Josh Burke, Jon Begner, Oscar Brodkin, Yoni Schurder, Marc Mer, Andy Hillel, Sam Hillel, Michael Klinger

Share via

Want more from the JC?

To continue reading, we just need a few details...

Want more from
the JC?

To continue reading, we just
need a few details...

Get the best news and views from across the Jewish world Get subscriber-only offers from our partners Subscribe to get access to our e-paper and archive