GB swimmers ready to make a splash at Maccabiah

Team Maccabi GB will send its largest squad of swimmers to compete at the Maccabiah Games next month.


Led by swimming chairman Murray Ayrton, members of leading clubs including Camden Swiss, Broomfield Park, LB Redbridge and Staines have been included, as they look to challenge for silverware in Israel.

Ayrton said: “We have selected an exceptionally strong team with all our swimmers having competed at either regional or national level.

“In Ellie Grant and Ewan Taylor - the current Scottish National 50 meters freestyle age-group champion - we have genuine medal potential.”

Squad member Josh Foreman explained: “I’m looking forward to representing my country and going to meet Jewish athletes from all around the world. I can't wait for this once in a life time experience to do something I love in a country I love.

For many of the athletes, the Games will be extra special with family members playing a big role in their Maccabiah journey.

Alicia Slater said: “My grandfather managed the Maccabi GB 1997 golf team at the Maccabiah, so to follow in his footsteps representing GB in swimming will be both an honour and hugely emotional especially as Israel is so close to my family's heart.”

Natalie Lustig, the youngest swimmer in the squad, commented: “I am so proud to be going to the Games and to be following in my grandfather’s footsteps.”

Team manager Naomi Ayrton said: “It is a huge honour for me to return to the pool where I won a bronze medal four years ago at the 2013 Games.

“I made so many wonderful friends and had such a great experience and I can’t wait to help this team have the same unbelievable time that I had.”

Naomi will be assisted by coach Samantha Russo who went on to say: “My Maccabiah dream was born after returning from an incredible European Maccabi Games in 2015

“ As a coach all you want and can hope for in a squad is that their competitive drive is laced with sportsmanship of honour for their country and their culture.

“I know they will do themselves and their integrity proud - and hopefully smash a few PB’s.”


Jacob Boyden

Joshua Foreman

Ellie Grant

Nathalie Lustig

Jason Pears

Zack Rothman

Rebecca Saville

Alicia Slater

Ewan Taylor

Chair: Murray Ayrton

Manager: Naomi Ayrton

Coach: Samantha Russo

Share via

Want more from the JC?

To continue reading, we just need a few details...

Want more from
the JC?

To continue reading, we just
need a few details...

Get the best news and views from across the Jewish world Get subscriber-only offers from our partners Subscribe to get access to our e-paper and archive