Northern Team of the Year

The achievements of the cream of the crop are recognised in James Masters’ Team of the Year


Akiva Lieberman
(Sporting JLGB)
The outstanding goalkeeper in the MJSL this season and a key part of the Sporting side which won the Tony Cohen Memorial Trophy.

Dan Ross
(Leeds Maccabi)
The club's Players Player of the Year by a country mile. A strong and determined leader at the heart of the team's defence.

Michael Sacks
(Manchester Maccabi 1st)
Arguably the best central defender in Jewish football and captain of the Peter Morrison Trophy winners, Sacks has been in sensational form this season. Leads by example and scores goals.

Simon Kaye
(Republic of Mancunia)
A rock for Republic all year and his performances deserved better than a runners-up medal following a fine campaign.

Ben Tyer
(Manchester Maccabi 1st)
Injured for the final 15 minutes of the Peter Morrison Trophy, Tyer could hardly run but showed the kind of courage and determination which has typified his season.

Dave Eden
(Republic of Mancunia)
The star of Republic's midfield with 14 goals, Eden was a key part of the team which finished second in the MJSL. Also scored in the Shonn Trophy final to help Republic round off their season in style.

Louis Basso
(Manchester Maccabi 3rd)
The JC MJSL Tony Walzer Player of the Year, midfielder Basso starred for Maccabi as they pipped Republic to the league title. A star in the making.

Rafi Bloom
Has drawn praise from several opposition managers for his performances this season. Hit 18 goals from midfield.

Dan Cohen
The stand out player for the Manchester side this season after netting an impressive 23 goals. Considered one of the most talented players in the entire MJSL.

Oli Grant
(Hyde Park)
Retained the Steve Blackstone award after finishing the season as MJSL top scorer with 25 goals. Grant remains the most potent forward in the league and will be a threat again next term.

Josh Hayes
(Manchester Maccabi 3rd)
Finished the season with 24 goals including five in the final game of the season which saw Maccabi wrap up the league title. Lethal in front of goal.

Managers: Stuart Delmonte and Tony Rosenberg
(Manchester 1st)
They had given themselves three years to nurture a team good enough to win the Peter Morrison Trophy – only to go and do it in their first year. An excellent debut season, both deserve enormous credit for their achievements.

Danny Caro’s jc MSFL teams of the season

1. Dan Lee (Redbridge JC)
2. Josh Lipman (Hendon Utd SC)
3. David Rhodes (NL Raiders)
4. Alex Taylor (Faithfold)
5. Ben Kon (Hendon Utd SC)
6. Paul Babai (Faithfold)
7. Alex Olcot (NL Raiders)
8. Ben Sollosi (Redbridge JC)
9. Greg Corin (Hendon Utd SC)
10. Daryl Phillips (Faithfold)
11. Daran Bern (Redbridge JC)

1. Oli Colmans (Brady Maccabi)
2. Ollie Segal (FC Team)
3. Adam Levine (Oakwood)
4. Rik Sherman (NL Raiders)
5. Adam Shafron (Chigwell Ath.)
6. Josh Hershman (Brady Maccabi)
7. Lee Platt (Brady Maccabi)
8. Elliot Espinoza (NL Raiders)
9. Eddie Manson (Oakwood)
10. Matt Drage (FC Team)
11. David Dinkin (NL Raiders)

1. Ben de la Fuente (Norstar)
2. Leor Harel (Faithfold)
3. Robin Scher (Norstar)
4. James Kaye (Brixton Old Boys)
5. Scott Shindler (Temple Fortune)
6. Alex Aviram (Woodford Wanderers)
7. Jonathan Peters (Norstar)
8. David Gance (Temple Fortune)
9. Paul Walker (Temple Fortune)
10. Jamie Kent (Brixton Old Boys)
11. Daniel Hildebrand (Faithfold)

1. Bradley Grant (Glenthorne Utd)
2. Adam Sandzer (Norstar)
3. Josh Gaon (Norstar)
4. Lee Ballen (Redbridge JC)
5. Josh Sugarbread (Faithfold)
6. Dan Breger (Heath Banta)
7. Daniel Shafron (Glenthorne Utd)
8. Daniel Lipman (Glenthorne Utd)
9. Sam Sollosi (Redbridge JC)
10. Ben Simons (Faithfold)
11. Dan Gordon (Redbridge JC)

1. Mitchel Ross (Glenthorne Utd)
2. Adam Levene (NW Neasden)
3. Johnny Meltzer (Inter B’wood)
4. Joe Grant (Glenthorne Utd)
5. Adam Speck (Blizzard Storm)
6. Joe Levy (Inter Borehamwood)
7. Nicky Plotnek (Shirley Park)
8. Alex Rubin (Blizzard Storm)
9. Dany Kon (Los Blancos)
10. Fabio Revieccio (Glenthorne Utd)
11. Jason Lindsay (Shirley Park)

1. Ben de la Fuente (Norstar)
2. Dan Jackson (Glenthorne Utd)
3. Josh Gaon (Norstar)
4. Julian Gertner (Los Blancos)
5. Sean Ladier (Blizzard Storm)
6. George Fierstone (NW Neasden)
7. Steven Field (Brady Maccabi)
8. Sam Sollosi (Redbridge JC)
9. David Gance (Temple Fortune)
10. Dany Kon (Los Blancos)
11. Josh Hershman (Brady Maccabi)

1. Phil Caplin (Camden Park)
2. Rob Kaplan (Camden Park)
3. Warren Schenk (Jewventus)
4. Jason Sears (Brady Maccabi)
5. Pete Lazard (London Maccabi Lions)
6. Rick Harris (Camden Park)
7. Danny Reuben (London Maccabi Lions)
8. Gabriel John (Jewventus)
9. Ben Simons (Faithfold)
10. Daryl Phillips (Faithfold)
11. Mark Wagman (Brady Maccabi)

1. Dan Lee (Redbridge JC)
2. Ollie Segal (FC Team)
3. Josh Lipman (Hendon Utd SC)
4. Scott Shindler (Temple Fortune)
5. Rik Sherman (NL Raiders)
6. Paul Babai (Faithfold)
7. Alex Olcot (NL Raiders)
8. Josh Hershman (Brady Maccabi)
9. Daran Bern (Redbridge JC)
10. Ben Simons (Faithfold)
11. Fabio Revieccio (Glenthorne Utd)

Share via

Want more from the JC?

To continue reading, we just need a few details...

Want more from
the JC?

To continue reading, we just
need a few details...

Get the best news and views from across the Jewish world Get subscriber-only offers from our partners Subscribe to get access to our e-paper and archive