Free-scoring Hendon cruise into the final four


Goals from Josh Bentley (2), Greg Corin (2), Saul Conway and supersub Hadley Newman set Hendon United A up for a Peter Morrison Trophy semi-final against Leeds Maccabi after they beat Westdene 1st 6-1.

Paul Babai, Nick Smith, Dan Kent and Shai Davidi saw South Manx A edge into the fourth round of the JC Cyril Anekstein Cup after beating Brixton Old Boys 4-3.

Chigwell Athletic A kept alive their JC MSFL Premier Division title hopes after taking four points out of a possible six from a double-header against London Maccabi Lions A. Sam McCarthy and Hayden Smith steered them to a 2-1 win in the opener. Mike Pearson replied. McCarthy and Pearson exchanged goals as the follow-up finished 1-1. Ben Lewis (2) and a strike from the halfway line from Alex Levack helped Faithfold A come from two goals down to beat Bafana Bafana 3-2.

Late strikes from Simon Hecker and Andrew Binstock helped maintain Montana’s Boca United A’s top-flight status for another week as they beat Glenthorne United A 2-1.

Strikes from Daniel Orgel, Daniel Howard and Richie Caplin helped Redbridge Jewish Care to maximum points in a relegation six-pointer against London Maccabi Lions B. .

Robert Bloch (3), Matt Geey (2), Rob Davidson and substitute Eddie Manson eased promotion-chasing Oakwood EDRS to a 7-2 victory over North London Raiders A in Division One. Richie Reggel and Adam Jocelyn replied.

Toby Lustigman (2) and Westley Matthews earned Camden Park a 3-3 draw against North West Neasden B. Bruno Frankel (2) and Rob Lerner netted for Neasden.

Southgate Harmen A sealed an immediate return to Division One after clinching promotion with a double-header win over FC Heath. They won the first game 5-0 with goals from Lloyd Becker, Alex Bourne, Russell Becker, Robbie Weber and Ori Kobi. This was followed up with a 5-1 success in which Jonathan Hirshler (2), Russell Becker (2) and Kobi completed the rout.

Tony Plaskow and Ricky Lawrence were among the scorers as Faithfold C boosted their hopes of avoiding the drop with a 3-1 win over HMZ.

Benji Dymant’s strike earned Neasden C a 1-1 draw against Lions C.

Ben Isaacs (2) and Rob Benson eased Temple Fortune’s relegation fears in a 3-0 success over Harmen B.

Jeff Gotch and Johnny Keller exchanged goals as Montana B and Catford & Bromley drew 1-1 in Division Three. Richie Kester, Mark Ratzker and an own goal earned AC Cricklewood a 3-1 win over L’Equipe.

Jerome Marks (2) and Mitch Hahn helped Woodford Wanderers seal promotion after beating UJS Norstar 3-2 in Division Four. Raffi Adlestone and Eli Houri replied.

David Scali-Cohen hit the winner as FC Marylebone beat Glenthorne B.

Amit Dinowitz (3) and man-of-the-match Josh Aziz steered Hendon Hawks to a 4-3 victory over Hendon United D. Gideon Lipman (2) and Dovid Greenberg replied.

Share via

Want more from the JC?

To continue reading, we just need a few details...

Want more from
the JC?

To continue reading, we just
need a few details...

Get the best news and views from across the Jewish world Get subscriber-only offers from our partners Subscribe to get access to our e-paper and archive