Faithfold ready to dethrone Neasden


Less than 24 hours after the FA Cup final, North West Neasden A will look to retain the Peter Morrison National Trophy against Premier Division rivals Faithfold A.

The teams came through tough semi-finals with Neasden beating their B team 3-1 with goals from Ben Ellis (2) and Tony Keterman. A brace from David Lederman steered Faithfold past Hendon United A.

Neasden joint-manager Jamie Cole said: "It's a fantastic achievement to be in the final for our third consecutive season, something which I don't believe any team has ever achieved.

Cole has had a busy week preparing for the big match. He led the MSFL Rep squad at yesterday's London Inter-League Cup final. Looking ahead to Sunday, he said: "We have great respect for Faithfold who will give everything on Sunday. We know that they are a good side but we have to back ourselves. We have beaten them before, so we are capable of getting a win against them again."

Daniel Fox, the other manager. recalled how Neasden beat Faithfold 3-2 the last time the teams met in the Morrison final. "It was a very open game and the result could have gone either way. This time we are going into the game in good form and everyone in the squad has that winning mentality."

Neasden will start the game as strong favourites. They have a psychological edge having beaten the Superhoops 2-0 in the league.

Zuriel Solomon, the Faithfold manager, is keeping his cards close to his chest ahead of kick-off as he considers playing the same formation that accounted for Hendon. Faithfold's last piece of silverware came in season 2004/05 when they won the Premier Division but a combination of hard work on and off the pitch and fresh talent in the shape of Joe Cohen, James Frenner, together with the experience of stalwarts including Alex Levack and Daryl Phillips have helped put them back on the map after a period of transition.

Speaking after the win over Hendon, Solomon said: "We were immense and played for 90 minutes as a team. I'm really proud of what we have achieved by getting to the final, it's what my boys deserved but we hope to go one better."

Final squads

Neasden A: Shields, Levene, Gottlieb, Shindler, J. Ellis (capt), Sofier, Daggers, Cole, Lampert, Keterman, Cash, Glynne, Stock, Gershfield, B. Ellis, Sammy Ross

Faithfold: Lee, Howard, Savitz, Frenner, A. Taylor, Lederman, Levack, J. Taylor, Cohen, Kleinman, Lenchner, Law, Spitzer, Perkins, Solomon, Dymant, Fields, Harrod, Lewis

Share via

Want more from the JC?

To continue reading, we just need a few details...

Want more from
the JC?

To continue reading, we just
need a few details...

Get the best news and views from across the Jewish world Get subscriber-only offers from our partners Subscribe to get access to our e-paper and archive