Brady retain league crown


Brady Maccabi A retained the Maccabi Masters Football League Division One title after drawing 3-3 nearest rivals North London Raiders. Scott Ansher, Marc Herman and Marc Lee scored the goals that secured the title for Brady who edged Raiders out by a point. Ashley Davidson (2) and

London Maccabi Lions A thumped Temple Fortune 6-1 thanks to a five-goal show from Danny Reuben plus one from Peter Lazard. Yari Mamouri scored Fortune’s consolation.

In Division 2, Glenthorne B beat Clayhall B 4-2 with a brace each from Gary Swerner and Fara Moghim, whilst Ian Sumray scored twice, including a penalty, for Clayhall.

Marc Morris and Elliot Most gave London Maccabi Lions B a 2-0 lead at the break against Norstar, who then hit back with goals from Lee Cohen and Trevor Granger to bring things level. Nevertheless, an own goal, and a second from Marc Morris gave Lions a 4-2 win.

And in an amazing game between Pel City and Temple Fortune B, Fortune pulled back from being 4-1 down at one stage to make it 6-6 at the final whistle. Paul Chilton (2), Jacob Namer (2), Andrew Cohen and Eddie Saleh scored for Pel, whilst James Ryan (2), Phil Bloomberg, Allon Schick-Maier, Jeremy Fess and Steve Feiger replied for Temple Fortune.


Henry Swerner Cup Final, sponsored by Tux' n Tails:
Glenthorne United A 3 South Mancunians 1

Division One:
North London Raiders 3 Brady Maccabi A 3, London Maccabi Lions A 6 Temple Fortune A 1

Division Two:
Glenthorne United B 4 Clayhall Park Casuals B 2, Norstar Old Boys 2 London Maccabi Lions B 4, Pel City 6 Temple Fortune B 6

Share via

Want more from the JC?

To continue reading, we just need a few details...

Want more from
the JC?

To continue reading, we just
need a few details...

Get the best news and views from across the Jewish world Get subscriber-only offers from our partners Subscribe to get access to our e-paper and archive