It’s the after-dinner bombshell many of us feared: as of March 2024, the Bendicks chocolate portfolio will no longer be kosher parev certified.
In a surprise announcement on Wednesday, the company said with “heavy hearts” that changes in their production facilities meant their chocolate range could no longer be approved as kosher.
It added that the change came despite the fact the kosher certification “has been an integral part of the Bendicks brand and its success.”
The company has already started removing the Kosher London Beth Din (KLBD) logo from its products.
Rabbi Jeremy Conway, Director of KLBD, which has been certifying Bendicks for over 30 years, said: “We are continuing to try to work with Bendicks to enable their mint chocolates to remain kosher. We know how popular their mints are, and how disappointing this will be to the Jewish community.
“For many, Friday night dinners have become synonymous with enjoying Bendicks and they are a go-to gift.”
Bendicks said: “We are very disappointed to be discontinuing the kosher certification.”
One X /Twitter user described the move as “devasting news” while another Facebook user said it was “the end of an era”.
Customers are encouraged to contact Bendicks to share their concerns.
Bendicks produced before March 2024 will still be kosher parev even though they might not show the logo.
Kosher Kingdom in Golders Green told the JC that they would order enough kosher Bendicks to keep their shelves full for another 9 months; chocoholics should be assured that the supermarket will have plenty of stock, even after March.