Become a Member
News

Nicolas Anelka charged by FA over quenelle gesture

January 21, 2014 09:21
West Bromwich Albion striker Nicolas Anelka

By

Daniel Easterman,

Daniel Easterman

1 min read

The Football Association has charged the West Bromwich Albion footballer Nicolas Anelka over his quenelle gesture.

In a statement issued this morning, the FA said it was alleged that Anelka "made a gesture which was abusive and/or indecent and/or insulting and/or improper, contrary to FA Rule E3[1]".

It was "further alleged that this is an aggravated breach, as defined in FA Rule E3[2], in that it included a reference to ethnic origin and/or race and/or religion or belief".

The player has until 6pm on Thursday to respond. He faces a minimum five-game ban. It is understood that a shorter ban applies if a player shows "immediate contrition". Anelka and West Brom have yet to apologise for his actions.

To get more news, click here to sign up for our free daily newsletter.

Editor’s picks