Designers plan for battle


The government has announced the designers who will compete to create the new National Holocaust Memorial.

Ten teams, selected from almost 100 entries from 26 countries, will submit designs for the memorial and learning centre, which is to be built next to Parliament, in Victoria Tower Gardens.

They will be judged by an independent jury including Communities Secretary, Sajid Javid, Mayor of London, Sadiq Khan, the Chief Rabbi, Ephraim Mirvis, and Holocaust survivor Ben Helfgott, It will be chaired by Sir Peter Bazalgette, the chair of the United Kingdom Holocaust Memorial Foundation.

The jury will select the winner next spring after a public consultation seeking views from communities across the UK.

The shortlisted teams feature a mix of renowned international architects and artists and new talents. They include Jewish sculptor Anish Kapoor and artist Rachel Whiteread.

Rabbi Mirvis praised the quality of the shortlisted teams, expressing confidence in their ability to design "an enduring symbol of the UK's absolute commitment to Holocaust education and to challenge hatred wherever we find it.'

Karen Pollock, Holocaust Educational Trust, said: "We are delighted to see this stellar shortlist. It is an exciting prospect that in years to come there will be a Holocaust memorial in this country designed by one of the world's leading architects."

An exhibition of the designs will be held in the UK from January 2017. They will also be available online.

Share via

Want more from the JC?

To continue reading, we just need a few details...

Want more from
the JC?

To continue reading, we just
need a few details...

Get the best news and views from across the Jewish world Get subscriber-only offers from our partners Subscribe to get access to our e-paper and archive