Skittles, one of the UK’s most popular sweets, has been approved as kosher by the London Beth Din.
The KLBD - the Kashrut division of the London Beth Din - now lists the “fruits”, “tropical”,”wild berry” and “crazy sours” flavours of the confectionary as kosher-parev.
A spokesperson for KLBD confirmed that “all current stock is approved” meaning that the product is kosher wherever it is being sold around the UK.
Skittles, a popular sweet in Britain since the 1970s, were not kosher for many years due to the use of cochineal red — a colouring made from crushed beetles – in red skittles.
Although many confectionary companies no longer use this colouring and Skittles were Kosher approved in the UK for a time in the late 2000s, they have not been approved for a number of years now – even as special kosher runs of the confectionary were made in the UK for sale in Israel.
During this time, British Orthodox Jews have only been able to buy packets imported back from Israel or America at a considerable markup from certain kosher shops.
Many Orthodox Jews welcomed the announcement on social media, describing it as “fantastic” and having “made my week.
“Don’t tell my kids!” begged a parent, presumably concerned about their children’s teeth.
A Skittles packet may not have a KLBD label on it but - as with many kosher items in the UK - while KLBD has not certified it, it has been kosher approved.
For up-to-date information on which products are kosher, people are advised to use the KLBD's "Is it Kosher" search engine.