Hartsbourne hold their nerve - and keep the Metropolitan


Hartsbourne have retained the AJGC&S Metropolitan Tournament. In a repeat of last year's event, they edged out host club Coombe Hill by one shot to take the two main trophies.

The Bushey Heath club won the Lawrence Fisher Cup, for best combined net of men and women, and the Sonny Feldman Trophy - The Metropolitan - for the best combined gross of men and women.

In the Ladies event, Anna Suh of Coombe Hill won the Sonia Bowman Cup for the best individual net (80) and the Shirley Porter Cup for the best individual gross (88). Valerie Lemer of Hartsbourne finished runner-up in both categories.

Coombe Hill won both the Jubilee Cup for the best team net and the Abridge Cup for best team gross.

The Potters Bar Cup for the best individual net was won by Mark Richards of Sussex Jewish Golf Society with a score of 71.

Hartsbourne's Mark Gershinson produced the best individual performance. He went round in 74 to land the Coombe Hill Trophy by four shots from Coombe Hill's Oliver Van Nairn, who was rewarded with the Gerald Tankel Trophy.

Hartsbourne also claimed the Dyrham Park Trophy, for the best team net, and the Hartsbourne Bowl for the best team gross.

The Met is the Association of Jewish Golf Clubs & Societies' first tournament of the year. Historically it has encompassed the London Jewish Golf Clubs together with Sussex Jewish Golf Society. This year tournament welcomed WAGOS, a society of golfers, who are not members of any of the participating clubs, but remain committed to the continuation of Jewish golf and have recently affiliated to the Association

Each club enters a team of eight men and four women to compete for the Metropolitan Trophy which is won by the team with the aggregate lowest combined gross scores of the six best men's score and three women's scores.

Metropolitan Prize Winners


Sonia Bowman Cup: Best individual net - Anna Suh (CPO) 80, Valerie Lemer (Coombe Hill) 92

Shirley Porter Cup: Best individual gross - Anna Suh (Coombe Hill) 88

Sybil Tankel Cup: Runner-up to best individual gross - Valerie Lemer (Hartsbourne) 92

Jubilee Cup: Best team net - Coombe Hill 246

Abridge Cup: Best team gross - Coombe Hill279


Potters Bar Cup: Best individual net - Mark Richards (Sussex JGS) 71

Coombe Hill Cup: Best individual gross - Mark Gershinson (Hartsbourne) 74

Gerald Tankel Cup; Runner-up to best individual gross - Oliver Van Nairn (CPO Gary Perkins (Ch) Coombe Hill 78

Dyrham Park Cup: Best team net - Hartsbourne 464

Hartsbourne Bowl: Best team gross - Hartsbourne 490


Lawrence Fisher Cup: Best team net - Hartsbourne 712

Sonny Feldman Trophy: Best team gross - Hartsbourne 772

CSS: Men 74, Ladies 76 (r/o)

Share via

Want more from the JC?

To continue reading, we just need a few details...

Want more from
the JC?

To continue reading, we just
need a few details...

Get the best news and views from across the Jewish world Get subscriber-only offers from our partners Subscribe to get access to our e-paper and archive