Chigwell pay penalty for spot-kick howlers

By Craig Silver, October 23, 2008

Chigwell Athletic A have been knocked out of the London Intermediate Cup second round after being beaten by Docklands FC 6-5 on penalties.

Adam Hakimi had given the Chigs the lead in the first half, but Sam McCarthy and Elliot Green missed in the dreaded penalty shoot-out.

In the JC MSFL, Redbridge Jewish Care caused the biggest shock of the day as they condemned Hendon United A to their second straight defeat.

Goals from Richie Caplan and new signing Craig Edwards could well end any title hopes for the Hammers.


Awesome Andrews inspires Neasden C

October 17, 2008

North West Neasden C 1-0 Southgate Harmen B

A goal from Paul Andrews put Neasden C back to winning ways as they claimed a hard fought victory over Harmen B.

If out of a negative comes a positive, then it came today in the performance of Neasden who went back to basics and played some of their best football of the season to date.

In the first half they knocked the ball about, built from the back, went through the midfield and attacked with purpose.


JC MSFL Matchday 7 Preview

By Danny Caro, October 17, 2008
There are some great games in store this weekend including Glenthorne United A and Faithfold A.



A 9-0 victory over your neighbours was the best possible victory for this game. Russell Green's midas touch is finally rubbing off on the Chigs.

Adam Hakimi was the star man. From his holding role in central midfield, he popped up with two goals against Glenthorne last week and ensured that the Thornes didn't get a look in.


Fresh Salmon helps Team topple Wood

By Richard Jaye, October 16, 2008

FC Team A 5-2 AC Cricklewood

A hat-trick from Richard Salmon plus two from Adam Goldsmith helped FC Team maintain their grip on the Division Three title race as they claimed a deserved victory over AC Cricklewood.

The match was played in a tremendous spirit with only 10 free-kicks in the whole game. It was over as a contest inside the first 18 minutes as Team raced to a four-goal lead.


JC MSFL Matchday Six preview

By Danny Caro, October 8, 2008

There's no let up in the programme with two more East London derbies scheduled. Lions B are the next team attempting to stop leaders Neasden A, but our expert pundits don't give them a chance.





Birthday boy Levy lords it in Essex derby

By Craig Silver, October 6, 2008

JC MSFL Division Four

East London Knights 1 Woodford Wanderers 3


A brace from birthday boy Andy Levy, plus one from Mitch Hahn helped Alex Aviram's 10-man Woodford Wanderers maintain their 100 per cent start to the season as they outclassed Essex rivals East London Knights at Wanstead Flats.

The game had everything including six bookings and a sending off, plus most of the rain in England in merely the first 40 minutes of the contest.


Four-midable Oaks catch Neasden cold

October 6, 2008

JC MSFL Div 1: Oakwood EDRS 4 NW Neasden B 2


It was cold, it was wet and it was a cracking game. Littered with great goals and good football this was a dramatic game from start to finish, contested by two fiercely committed teams.


Resurgent Banta stun Neasden C

October 6, 2008

JC MSFL Div 2: Rapid Banta 2 NW Neasden C 0


Rapid Banta caused one of the upsets of the season when they beat title hopefuls North West Neasden C.

With Banta yet to pick up a point this season and the JC/TJ sportswriters predicting bad things and a troubled season ahead, Banta arrived at the Heath safe in the knowledge that things could only improve.


Three cheers as Hammers surge on

October 6, 2008

JC MSFL Prem Div: Hendon Ud A 3 Bafana Bafana 1


Last year's runners-up maintained their unbeaten start to the season and moved into second place after this hard fought win over a well organised Bafana.

Played under pouring rain but on an immaculate Hadley surface it was the newly promoted visitors who started brightest. The veteran striker Assi Avital skimming the bar after a flowing move and keeper Danny Berliner holding on to two long range efforts.


Formidable Lions stay top

September 29, 2008

HSCL Prem Div: London Lions 4 Baldock Town 1

Scintillating is the best way to sum up Lions 4-1 win over newly promoted Division one Champions Baldock Town at Rowley Lane.

In what could arguably be their best performance of the season so far, the football played was easy on the eye and a joy to watch and highlighted just how potentially good this side could become.