Barry Goldstein Trophy

Officials ready for big stage

By Danny Caro, April 11, 2012

Referees have been under the spotlight in recent days, with some mind-boggling decisions making life tough for teams battling for titles, promotion and against relegation.


Danny Caro's Team of the Week: April 1

By Danny Caro, April 3, 2012

1. BEN LAW (Faithfold A) - on top form as the Superhoops exacted revenge on Neasden. Pulled off “a worldie” for good measure

2. ALEX GILBERT (Hendon United Sports Club A) - “an all-action energetic display” against Raiders B

3. GAVIN SHERMAN (UJIA) - “Captain Marvel led his team from bottom to top”. He will now lead them to Wingate


Danny Caro's Division 3 TOTW: April 1

By Danny Caro, April 3, 2012

1. Mike Perkin (North West Neasden C)

2. Aron Lewis (North West Neasden C)

3. Gavin Sherman (UJIA)

4. Lee Bushell (Shirley Park)

5. Ryan Colet (Blizzard Storm)

6. Simon Levene (North West Neasden C)

7. Ilan Shaki (Shirley Park)

8. Jeremy Teacher (UJIA)

9. Ben Nassim (UJIA)

10. Saul Conway (Shirley Park)

11. Assi Avital (UJIA)


JC MSFL Goal of the Week: April 1

By Danny Caro, April 3, 2012

WINNER: - Alex Levack (Faithfold A) - a wonder strike from 30 yards that NWN Max Shields could only admire



- Jamie Wolfson (NL Raiders A) - cut in from the right before producing a stunning finish with the outside of his right foot


JC MSFL Top-scorers: April 1

By James Masters, April 2, 2012

28 – Craig Sandford (Glenthorne United B), Saul Conway (Shirley Park),

25 - Dan Hildebrand (Brady B - includes 7 for Faithfold)

23 - Jamie Kent (Brixton Old Boys - includes goals scored for Brixton B)

21 - Doron Weinstein (Redbridge Jewish Care C - includes one for B team), James Gold (LM Lions B)

19 - Terry Jeffries (Temple Fortune B)


JC MSFL Team of the Week: the contenders - April 1

By Danny Caro, April 2, 2012

GK - Rob Shepherdson (Chigwell Athletic), Jake Doffman (Brixton A), Mike Perkin (Neasden C), Ben Law (Faithfold A), Simon Roth (Athletic Bilbaum)


Glenthorne's doubles dreams crushed by Neasden

By Danny Caro, April 1, 2012

Glenthorne United A 1 North West Neasden C 2

Oli Joseph and Benjy Gourgey were the goal men as Neasden C edged past Division Three champions Glenthorne B to set up a final against UJIA at Wingate & Finchley on April 22.

Top-scorer and joint-player-manager Craig Sandford netted for Glenthorne.


Teacher takes UJIA back to Wingate

By Danny Caro, April 1, 2012

UJIA 1 Blizzard Storm 0

Jeremy Teacher was the matchwinner as UJIA booked their place in their second consecutive BGT final following a hard fought win over Division Three rivals Blizzard Storm at Chase Lodge.



JC MSFL Matchday 30 review

By Danny Caro, April 1, 2012

UJIA will meet Neasden C in this season's Barry Goldstein Trophy final after winning their respective semi-finals, while in the league, Lions A's winning run was halted by Redbridge. Hendon A edged closer to the title while Lions B beat newly-crowned Division Two champions Hendon B. Elsewhere, Shirley Park clinched promotion from Division Three. Danny Caro looks back on all the action.


Danny Caro's Division Three TOTW: March 25

By Danny Caro, March 28, 2012

1. Darren Rolfe (UJIA)

2. Tony Plaskow (UJIA)

3. Adam Levene (North West Neasden C)

4. Tony Chadwick (North West Neasden C)

5. Ashley Freeman (UJIA)

6. Simon Levene (North West Neasden C)

7. Mark Engel (North West Neasden C)

8. Daniel Lassman (Glenthorne B)

9. Dean Shaw (Blizzard Storm)

10. Joe Stolerman ((Blizzard Storm)

11. Assi Avital (UJIA)