Students fire blanks

February 26, 2009

MJSL Leeds JNF J-Uni failed to win a league game for the first time this season as they were held to a goalless draw by Republic of Mancunia in the Joan Collins Premier Division.

In contrast, Haroldeans and Westdene Reserves played out a 10-goal thriller with Haroldeans’ James Abrams (3), Eric Lewis, Sam Silverberg, James Abrams, Jacob Nevitt and Rob Karp leading the Liverpudlians to a 7-3 win. Arran Clayton (2) and Phil Wingate netted for Westdene.

Jordan Gold (2), Ben Rose and Adam Leker earned Westdene 1st a 4-3 success over Roy’s Rovers. Joseph Mann (2) and Dov Hanson replied.

Goals from Zev Landsman and Matt Jacobs steered Crumpsall into the semi-finals of the Feldman Trophy as they beat Oakhill Lions 2-1. Sam Bentwood replied.

They were joined by South Manchester Maccabi 2nd who ran out 5-1 winners over Manchester Maccabi 4th courtesy of strikes from Rob Sciama (2), Jeremy Nivern, Simon Mattison and Dave Stewart.

Last updated: 11:06am, February 26 2009