MSFL: North West Neasen stop title rivals

By Danny Caro, September 17, 2009
Comeback complete: Neasden striker Lee Cash makes it 2-2 and (below) Scott Shindler silences the crowd

Comeback complete: Neasden striker Lee Cash makes it 2-2 and (below) Scott Shindler silences the crowd

North West Neasden A captain Jonny Ellis was proud of his team’s never-say-die attitude as the defending JC MSFL champions came from two goals down to claim a vital draw at title rivals Redbridge Jewish Care A at Redbridge FC.

The clash of the titans saw the hosts make a dream start with summer signing Mitch Lassman and Steve Summers put them in a strong position at the break.

But goals from defender Scott Shindler and striker Lee Cash helped Neasden maintain their unbeaten start. “At half time our backs were against the wall and we had everything to do in the second 45 minutes,” said Ellis. “The spirit was fantastic. We never gave up and showed why we have won the league for the last two years. It was a great game and in the end, a fair result.”

RJC manager Greg Bookman said: “The start we made was quite remarkable. Our defence was outstanding for 80 minutes but had a 10-minute spell of pressure where Neasden took their goals. It’s inevitable that trying to weather the storm against a team like Neasden can only last so long. Perhaps we weren’t clever enough to stop them playing. I feel that with a little more work and match fitness we can really prove ourselves this year.”

Bafana Bafana earned result of the day after beating League Cup winners Hendon United A 2-1 courtesy of strikes from Aron Azouz and Assi Avital. Greg Corin reply came too late. A hat-trick from Pete Lazard, 48, earned London Maccabi Lions A their first victory, a 5-3 win over South Manx A. Motti Colman (2) was the other marksman. Daniel Kent, Jamie Kent and Shai Davidi accounted for the Manx goals.

Goals from Danny Reuben (2), Ian Hartstone and an own goal earned London Maccabi Lions B a 4-0 victory over Catford & Bromley Maccabi in the second round of the London FA Sunday Junior Cup.

Faithfold A let slip a three-goal lead as they went down 5-3 to Greengate after extra time in the London FA Sunday Intermediate Cup. Benji Diamant, Mickey Field and Daryl Phillips were their scorers.

Southgate Harmen A moved clear at the top of Division One following a 5-0 success over Brixton Old Boys. Alex Bourne (2), Ori Kobi, Paul Andrews and Dan Beckwith eased them home.

A last-minute penalty save from Richard Stern rubber-stamped Redbridge Jewish Care B’s 4-3 victory over Montana Boca United A. Richie Caplin (2), Daniel Orgel and Steve Faye netted for RJC. Gary Cohen and Toby Lustigman replied.

Ryan Sher, Alex Bowman and Bradley Sharp were on the mark as North West Neasden B beat Camden Park 3-0. Mitch Young, James Ryan and an own goal eased FC Team A to a 3-0 victory over Holy Mount Zion in Division Two. Rapid Banta’s Stefan Simons hit the winner against North London Raiders B.

Adam Savitz (2), James Gold, Daniel Alexander, Jonathan Green and Craig Henry struck as London Maccabi Lions C thumped title rivals Chigwell Athletic 6-1.

Dave Silver bagged a brace as FC Team B drew 3-3 against North West Neasden C. Ben Isaacs (2) and Rob Benson found the net in Temple Fortune’s 3-3 draw with Faithfold C whose goals came from Ben Lewis, Adam Morris and an own goal

Gav Noe (2), Ben Russell and Adam Hersh paved the way for Hendon United C’s 4-2 win over AC Cricklewood. FC Marylebone are off the mark with Yann Besseyere and Yoann Girard on target in the win over FC Heath. Byron Watkins (2) and Neil Marcus were the scorers as Zig Zag opened with a 3-0 success against Faithfold C.

UJS Norstar B maintained their winning start with Eli Houri (2), Adam Seres (2), Maurice Franks and Josh Kleiman inspiring a 6-0 victory against HMH. Rob Rodney (3) and Ed Green (2) did the damage as Athletic Bilbaum thumped Pinner JFC 5-1. Craig Sanford and David Castle heaped more misery on Jewventus as Redbridge Jewish Care C started with a 2-1 win. Louis Taylor replied.

Last updated: 1:47pm, September 18 2009