Lions pay penalty as Neasden go 10 points clear

By Craig Silver, November 6, 2008

A late penalty from Lee Cash eased North West Neasden A 10 points clear at the top of the Premier Division following a 2-1 win over London Maccabi Lions A. Dan Green had given the Lions an early lead before Daniel Stanton levelled on the stroke of half time. Cash's winner was his 12th league goal of the campaign.

Ashley Rubin and Alex Lishak were on target as Glenthorne United A won a relegation six-pointer against Montana Boca United A 2-1.

There were three giant-killings in the first round of the JC Cyril Anekstein Cup. A last-minute strike from Jason Miller saw L'Equipe cause the shock of the round as they knocked out Division One high-flyers Brady Maccabi in a seven-goal thriller.

Oliver Manson's troops came from two down with David Prager, Josh Lewis and Miller (2) doing the damage while keeper Michael Mirelman also starred. Steve Weston, Danny Mourmouris and Lee Platt struck for Brady.

Glenthorne United B stunned North London Raiders B 3-2 courtesy of strikes from Jamie Weinrich (2) and a long-range special from Mitchel Ross.

East London Knights toppled Temple Fortune on penalties. The teams were deadlocked at 2-2 after full time and 3-3 after extra time. Player-manager James Ryan netted twice for the Knights. Richard Cooper, Paul Walker and Daniel Woolfe netted for Fortune.

An extra-time strike from Will Beresford saved London Maccabi Lions Bs blushes against North West Neasden C. Scott Levy and Hadley Silver were their other scorers.

Gideon Gold (2) and Jason Lindsay (2) earned Red Sea an impressive 4-1 win at London Maccabi Lions C. Matty Berger claimed the consolation.

Russell Greenfield (3), Rick Harris and Michael Goldberg were on the mark as Camden Park came from behind to beat Pinner JFC 5-2.

Catford & Bromley Maccabi needed extra time to see off FC Marylebone 4-2. Fred Baresi, Adam Lewis, Jon Keller and Joel Isaacs took them through.

Rapid Banta were indebted to a fine display from keeper Justin Simons as they overcame Hendon Hawks 3-2 in extra time. Asher Gershuny, Rafi Revah and a winner from Jeff Gross helped them progress.

Oakwood EDRS ended Woodford Wanderers' unbeaten run with a 3-2 extra time victory. Dan Ash, Adam Levine and Ian Tussie put them through. Mitch Hahn and Elliott Winner replied.

Elliott Wallis (2) and Marc Cohen helped Southgate Harmen B avoid a banana skin in the shape of UJS Norstar.

Gav Noe, Ben Kon and Rafi Kon eased Hendon United B to a 3-0 win over Chigwell Athletic B.

Last updated: 12:48pm, November 7 2008