Leeds land MJSL with plenty to spare

March 19, 2009

Leeds JNF J-Uni were crowned champions of the Joan Collins Premier Division after the 5-0 demolition of Westdene Reserves saw them open a 19-point lead. Josh Rubin (2), Daniel Henig, Jonathan Green and Elliot Wallis did the damage.

Two goals from Yishai Last earned second-placed Oakhill Lions a 2-0 victory over Republic of Mancunia.

Crumpsall beat Westdene 1st 5-2 with goals from Uri Steinburg (2), Yossi Saunders, Zev Landsman and Gav Cohen.

Irate Crumpsall boss Zevi Saunders accused Westdene of adopting an aggressive approach. He said: “To say that Westdene had anger management issues would be an understatement. Westdene, for some reason, see the need to supplement their undeniable talent with constant dirty tricks and by mouthing their opinions on each and every incident. Credit must go to the their manager Steve Davies who withdrew Adam Leker before he got sent off or injured somebody.”

Last updated: 2:55pm, March 19 2009