Glorious Glenthorne reach the last eight

By Danny Caro, April 23, 2009
Champions: Southgate Harmen A received the Division Two shield

Champions: Southgate Harmen A received the Division Two shield

Goals from Lewis Walker and Ben Solossi took Glenthorne United A into the quarter-finals of the Peter Morrison Trophy after they beat Glasgow Maccabi 2-0 in Scotland.

Boss Ian Cohen said: “This was an immense performance. I was excited by the commitment of every player in what was a mature display that bodes well for the future.”

Goals from David Dinkin (2), Louis Basger and Dan Green saw holders London Maccabi Lions A reach the semi-finals of the JC Cyril Anekstein Cup after beating Montana Boca United A 4-2. Andy Binstock (2) replied.

They were joined by Hendon United B who won the all-Division One clash against leaders South Manx A 3-2. Chaim Gothold, Rafi Kon, Gave Noe struck for Hendon. Jamie Kent (2) replied.

Faithfold A consolidated second place in the JC MSFL Premier Division after beating a depleted Hendon United A 3-0 with goals from Richard Baum, David Lederman and Paul Lenchner.

Brady Maccabi’s Division One automatic promotion hopes were quashed in a double-header against North West Neasden B. Lee Platt and Scott Ansher helped them come from behind to win the opener 2-1. Bruno Frankel, who scored in both games, helped Neasden win the follow-up 5-1 with Rob Lerner claiming a hat-trick.

Goals from Ric Blank and Gary Bloch kept Oakwood EDRS on a course for the runners-up spot as they came from behind to beat Camden Park 2-1. Toby Lustigman netted for Camden in a game that Oakwood finished with nine men after two red cards.

North London Raiders A thumped Brixton Old Boys 6-1 courtesy of strikes from Matt Sheldon (2), Jonny Blain, Adam Posner, Adam Jocelyn and James Fattal.

Division Two champions Southgate Harmen A were brought down to earth with a 5-1 defeat against Temple Fortune. Jonathan Cohen, Ben Isaacs, Paul Walker, John Fisher and Richard Cooper saw Fortune home. Fortune boss Andrew Souber said: “To beat the champions has given us a real lift.”

North West Neasden C and London Maccabi Lions C drew 1-1 for the second consecutive week. Dave Marcus put Neasden ahead from a free-kick before defender Danny Schindler scored an 85th minute equaliser.

Catford & Bromley Maccabi and AC Cricklewood shared a win apiece in Division Three. Joel Isaacs, Dave Everest, Matthew Burchell and Scott Simons were on target as Catford won part one 4-1. Three Catford players scored in the second match although Simon Wolfson and Simons found the wrong net to gift Cricklewood a 2-1 success. Johnny Keller replied.

Jason Miller (3), Mark Singer and Daniel Scott eased L’Equipe to a 7-2 win over Montana Boca United B. Adam Lenz and Jeff Gotch replied.

Alex Gold (4) and Yaniv Ohana denied East London Knights second place in Division Four as FC Marylebone recorded a 5-1 win. Matt West claimed a consolation.

Ben Menahem, Daniel Gilbert and Sammy Kalms virtually assured UJS Norstar’s promotion with a 3-1 win over Team JLGB. Neil Lux replied.

Jon Kay, Josh Greenham and Dave Grossman earned Pinner JFC a 3-2 victory over Hendon Hawks in their last game under manager Les Conway and coach Phil Gridelet. Josh Aziz and Amit Dinowitz replied.

Last updated: 12:42pm, April 23 2009