Faithfold pay the penalty as Neasden dream team maintain winning ways

By Craig Silver, January 22, 2009

North West Neasden A maintained their quadruple hopes with a hard fought 4-2 win over Faithfold A in round three of the JC Cyril Anekstein Cup. Two penalties from captain Lee Cash and one apiece from Daniel Levenfiche and Ricky Kennet took them through.

Neasden B reached the quarter-finals of the Sunday London Junior Cup for the first time after beating Enfield Crusaders 2-1 courtesy of strikes from Danny Cohen and Rob Lerner.

Three late goals ended FC Team A’s hopes of an upset in the Peter Morrison Trophy as they were beaten 5-2 by Southgate Harmen A. Craig Phillips (2), Alex Bourne, Jonathan Hirshler and Lloyd Becker scored for Harmen. Eddie Sternberg and Ben Lewis replied.

Lewis Walker bagged a brace as Glenthorne United A won the all-Premier Division clash with a 2-1 victory over Redbridge Jewish Care.

Daniel Kent (3), Shai Davidi and Craig Cole eased South Manx A to a 5-0 success over Southgate Harmen B.

A late effort from Hadley Silver improved London Maccabi Lions B’s chances of avoiding relegation as they beat Bafana Bafana in the JC MSFL Premier Division.

Mitch Lassman scored twice on his debut as Brady moved to within two points of top spot in Division One with a 4-1 win over Faithfold B. Danny Mamouris and Josh Rosenfeld also scored.

Brixton Old Boys dented Camden Park’s title hopes with Lloyd Nygate and Neil Burke on target in a 2-1 win. Michael Goldberg replied.
Anthony Kintish (3) and Daniel Abrams earned title-chasing Oakwood EDRS a 4-1 victory at Faithfold B.

Ari Last (2) and Ben Kon gave Hendon United B a 3-2 win over North London Raiders A. David Rhodes and substitute Jonny Silver replied.
North London Raiders Bs’ Division Two title hopes were dealt a blow as they threw away a two-goal lead to go down 3-2 against Temple Fortune.

John Fisher (2) and Daniel Woolfe earned Fortune their third league win.
Marc George (2), Daniel Ison, Dan Grossman and Paul Samuels helped Rapid Banta win a relegation six-pointer 5-2 against FC Heath.

David Silver (2), Mitch Young and Adam Rose helped FC Team B open a four-point lead at the top of Division Three with a 4-2 win over Catford & Bromley Maccabi. Joel Isaacs bagged a brace for the Cats.

AC Cricklewood completed the comeback of the day as they came from four goals down to beat L’Equipe 5-4. Nick Stern, Josh Lewis, Peter Chaya and Daniel Caplan had put Oliver Manson’s troops in pole position but a half time grilling from player-manager Elliot Chalmers saw Cricklewood turn in a stunning second-half display with Nigel Goldthorpe, Mark Wagman, Rob Wilson (2) and an own goal completing the turnaround.

A four-goal salvo from Dovid Korman helped Hendon United C thump Dynamo Hendon 9-1. Ben Russell (2), Trevor Silverman, Adam Hersh and Shuey Mirwis added further goals.

Dynamo manager Jeremy Brown quipped: “One nil down at half time didn’t seem that bad!”

Woodford Wanderers leapfrogged local rivals East London Knights to go top of Division Four on goal difference. Mitch Hahn (2), Jerome Marks (2), Alex Aviram and Andy Levy scored in the 6-1 success over Pinner JFC. Jonathan Kay scored a consolation.

James Ryan and Craig Edwards earned East London Knights a 2-1 win over Team JLGB. Justin Freedman

Two goals from Josh Caplin plus one from Simon Morris gave Hendon United D a 3-1 win over FC Marylebone.

Eli Houri maintained UJS Norstar’s title hopes as they edged past
Glenthorne United B 2-1. Jeremy Elster’s opener had been cancelled out by Glenthorne’s Daniel Lipman.

Real Life claimed their seventh league win with a 7-0 thumping of Hendon Hawks. Charlie Bernstein (3), Lewis Cohen (2), Paul Franklin and Wayne Davidson eased them home.

Last updated: 12:58pm, February 16 2009