Cup kings Neasden sink The Ship

By Danny Caro, February 18, 2009
Action from Raiders B and NWN C

Action from Raiders B and NWN C

Strikes from Alex Bowman, Bruno Frankel and Ryan Sher put North West Neasden B into the semi-finals of the London FA Sunday Junior Cup after they beat The Ship 3-1.

Joint-manager Sammy Carr said: “This is a huge achievement. Let’s just hope we can take our cup form into the league and gain promotion to the Premier Division.”

Nick Collins, Ashley Davidson and an own goal earned Maccabi Masters a tie against Leeds Maccabi as they beat Montana Boca United B 3-1 in the Peter Morrison Trophy.

Jonny Silver (2), James Fattal and Mark Leader booked North London Raiders A a place in the fourth round clash against Manchester Maccabi 1st following a 4-2 win over Hendon Hawks.

Chigwell Athletic A got off to a winning start under the management of Greg Bookman and Danny Berg. Steve Summers (2), Sam McCarthy and Daniel Gordon scored in the 4-1 JC MSFL Premier Division derby win over Redbridge Jewish Care.

A late strike from the evergreen Pete Lazard earned London Maccabi Lions B a 1-1 draw against London Maccabi Lions A. Josh Newman netted for the As.

Second half strikes from Darren Russell, Nick Kenton and Dan Miller reignited North London Raiders B’s promotion hopes as they beat arch rivals North West Neasden C 3-0 in Division Two.

Dan Beckwith, Alex Bourne and Jonathan Hirshler were on the mark as leaders Southgate Harmen A beat Holy Mount Zion 3-0.

Red Sea took maximum points against FC Heath in the league’s first double-header of the season. Sacha Benfredj scored the winner in the opener with Jason Lindsay, David Lussman, Gideon Gold and Dan Oade on target as they won the second 4-0.

Jimmy Lester opened the scoring as London Maccabi Lions C drew 1-1 with Faithfold C.

Rapid Banta won a relegation six-pointer 2-1 against Southgate Harmen B with efforts from Simon Cooper and Simon Kaye.

Division Three favourites FC Team A thumped Dynamo Hendon 8-1 with goals from Richard Salmon (3), Jonny Breger (2), Adam Goldsmith, Simon Buchler and Alex Stolerman.

Josh Sasto earned Pinner JFC their fifth draw of the season as they drew 1-1 against Glenthorne United B in Division Four. Simon Linden and an own goal earned UJIA a 2-0 victory over FC Marylebone.

Last updated: 6:56pm, February 18 2009