Class tells as Hendon go through

By Danny Caro, April 30, 2009
Hendon scorer Saul Conway (left) tussles with FC Team’s Dan Silverman

Hendon scorer Saul Conway (left) tussles with FC Team’s Dan Silverman

First-half efforts from Ari Last, Paul Bentley and Saul Conway set up a quarter-final clash at Oakwood EDRS as Hendon United A beat FC Team A 3-1 in the JC Cyril Anekstein Cup. Mitch Young replied.

North West Neasden A moved to within a point of retaining the JC MSFL Premier Division crown after sharing six goals against nearest challengers Faithfold A.

Daniel Levenfiche, Lee Cash and Jonny Ellis netted for Neasden who staged a dramatic late comeback from 3-1 down. David Lederman, Richard Baum and an Ellis own goal accounted for the Faithfold goals.

Steve Summers (3) and Charlie Laderman helped Chigwell Athletic A maintain their pursuit of second place with a 4-2 win over lowly Montana Boca United A. Zak McLeod and Gary Cohen were Montana’s marksmen.

Oakwood EDRS moved to within a point of leaders South Manx A with a 4-0 win over Chigwell Athletic B in Division One. Robert Bloch completed the rout.

Gav Noe, Pinty Baddiel and Martin Smulovitch earned promotion chasing Hendon United B a 3-1 win at Camden Park. Phil Jessel replied.

Rob Lerner (2), Bruno Frankel, Ryan Sher and Kane Swerner eased North West Neasden B to a 5-0 win at struggling Brixton Old Boys.

Greg Levy (3), James Castle, Jimmy Lester, Guy Marks and Alex Springer were among the scorers as London Maccabi Lions C thumped FC Heath 10-0 in Division Two.

A four-goal salvo from Mark Wagman plus one from Rob Wilson eased AC Cricklewood to a 5-0 success over Hendon United C in Division Three.

L’Equipe overcame South Manx B in a double-header. Jason Miller (2), Josh Baron and Daniel Scott helped them come from behind to win the opener 4-1. Nick Stern and Mark Truman steered them to a 2-1 victory in the follow-up.

Jerome Marks and Paul Shone were on target as Division Four champions Woodford Wanderers beat Hendon Hawks 2-0.

UJS Norstar clinched promotion with a 6-2 success over UJIA. Sammy Kalms (3), Dan Gilbert, Nick Benson and Maurice Franks were their marksmen.

Last updated: 12:28pm, April 30 2009