Cash claims the ultimate prize

By Danny Caro, June 6, 2008

Lee Cash has been crowned JC MSFL player of the season as North West Neasden enjoyed a clean sweep at the end-of-season awards.

The marksman enjoyed a memorable campaign, lifting the Peter Morrison and Premier Division trophies. The Spurs fan also chipped in with 19 league goals and was the second top scorer in league and cup.

After picking up his award in Edgware, Middlesex, Cash said: “It’s a great honour to win, but I’d also like to stress that if it wasn’t for the team and all that we’ve achieved this year, then I don’t think I would have received this award.

Lee Cash fought off the challenge of his rivals to win the top award

“I had a difficult middle part of the season due to injuries which prevented me from scoring as many goals as I would have liked and therefore hope to improve on my tally next season. I will look back and be very proud of this individual award but football is a team game and it is team awards that mean the most to me.”

The Neasden skipper, who turned 26 this week, was impressed by the overall quality of players and teams within the league. “I feel the standard in the MSFL is still very high with a lot of the Saturday players playing on Sundays,” he said. “I think there are three or four top quality teams in the league who compete every year and the standard stems from them.” With one eye on next year’s Maccabiah Games, he commented: “It would mean a lot to me to be picked. Last year’s European Maccabi Games in Rome was a great experience and gave me a taste, even though I did not play as much as I would have liked. Hopefully, that can change next year. As for the coverage by the JC, it is absolutely fantastic and unparalled.”

Daniel Cole was named young player of the year. Like Cash, he paid tribute to his teammates and said: “It’s a great award to get but I don’t think I would have stood a chance of winning if we hadn’t won the league.

“We came so close last year, but we knew we would come back stronger and this season we’ve worked hard. It’s been a great year.”

Cole was unlucky to be sent off in the Peter Morrison Trophy final win over Hendon United A, and said: “It was a disappointing way to finish the season, but this award more than makes up for it. I’ve had a memorable season, being called up into the Wingate & Finchley set-up and am keen to keep improving.”

And to cap things off, elder brother Jamie was named manager of the year. “It is an amazing achievement,” he said. “And even though we had such a great season, there are a lot of managers who could have got this award so it is fantastic to win it.

“Winning the double would not have been possible without my assistant, Daniel Fox. The main challenge with the team now is all about retaining our league title. There are a lot of great teams in the division and everyone will want to beat the champions. Although there is talk we should look to win the treble, the league will always be our main focus. I think it’s only the beginning for Neasden and I think you have only seen a glimpse of what we can do.”

Looking ahead, he said: “It would like be to be given the opportunity to manage the league rep team and Maccabiah.”

FC Team A manager Mitch Young was “proud” to pick up the Ron Saunders Trophy awarded by referees for best organisation and sportsmanship.

Roll of honour

Player of the season: Lee Cash (North West Neasden A)

Young player of the season: Daniel Cole (North West Neasden A)

Manager of the year: Jamie Cole (North West Neasden A)

Team secretary of the year : David Garson (Faithfold C)

Leading scorer:
1. Richard Fogelman (South Mancs B)
2. Lee Cash (NW Neasden A), Saul Conway (Hendon Utd A)

Goalkeeper of the year: David Simnock (North London Raiders B)

Sportsmanship/turnout award: FC Team (13.89/15)

Referee of the year: Howard Gould

Best newcomer (referee): Daniel Cohen

Divisional Players of the year:
One: Trevor Henen (Montana Boca United A)
Two: Anthony Kintish (Oakwood EDRS B)
Three: Nicky Wolff (North London Raiders B)
Four: Jake Weiner (FC Team A)
Five: Richard Fogelman (South Mancs B)

Masters Referee of the season: Gavin Meranda

Last updated: 3:44pm, June 6 2008