Weiner to captain Australian cricket team

By Danny Caro, January 11, 2013

Julien Weiner will captain Australia’s Open cricket squad at July’s Maccabiah Games.

Taking part in his fourth Games, Weiner will lead a 13-man delegation and is one of eight players selected from Maccabi AJAX CC. David Gelbart of Bentleigh CC has been named vice-captain.

The squad features a combination of youth and experience, with JJ Zimmet, Brett Wiener, Adam Trytell, Andrew Coleman, Daniel Bense, Josh Skala and Josh Sacks taking part in the competition for the first time.

South Africa, Great Britain, India, Canada and hosts Israel complete the line-up.

Julien Wiener (capt - Maccabi AJAX)
David Gelbart (vice-capt - Bentleigh CC)
Daniel Bense (Parkville District)
Andrew Coleman (Gordon)
David Fayman (Maccabi AJAX)
Josh Sacks (Maccabi AJAX)
Joshua Skala (St. Kilda)
Mark Soffer (Maccabi AJAX)
Adam Trytell (Maccabi AJAX)
Dylan Weiner (Balcatta)
Brett Wiener (Maccabi AJAX)
Dean Wiener (Maccabi AJAX)
JJ Zimmet (Maccabi AJAX)

Last updated: 1:13pm, January 11 2013