Hamilton FX Olim League round-up: May 24

May 24, 2012

It's been a busy few days for Olim League footballers with action in league, cup and for the Rep Team.

Olim Cup
England B 3 Jaffa 2

England B caused the cup upset of the season by defeating current holders Jaffa.

The B’s fell beind early on but levelled the scores almost immediately thanks to a screamer from midfielder Beja and a brace from Argentinian sensation Tommy Scneider.

Jaffa managed to pull back a goal in the second half but the bunkering tactics dictated by B’s player-manager Clifford Corney proved enough for the B’s to book their place in this year’s cup final.

Olim Cup
Jerusalem 5 Aviv City 6
(Aviv won 6-5 on penalties)

Jerusalem’s cup dreams were shattered as Aviv City beat them in sudden death in a nail-biting penalty shootout following a goalless 90 minutes.

Penalties from Adam Jaffe, Remi Ozougno, Ariel Peretz, Sagi Meged and player manager Uri Schneider clinched the tie for the visitors.

Aviv City will meet Raanana in the semi-finals with the winner meeting England B in the final.

Olim League
Jerusalem 3 Aviv City 3

Jerusalem failed to capitalise on their game in hand over Raanana and have left the title race wide open as they were held to a draw at home by a strong visiting Aviv City.

The visitor’s goals came from Sagi Meged and a brace for Adam Jaffe.

Workers League Cup
Beseq 4 Olim Rep Team 1

The Olim Rep team were handed a heavy defeat at the hands of Beseq as they crashed out of the Workers League Cup in the quarter-finals.

Going into the game without star players Nicky Plotneck and Essi Bilsaboda, the Rep team dominated the possession but were unable to capitalise, failing to test the Beseq keeper.

Beseq took the lead against the run of play before the half and despite an equaliser through Martin Udeani it was not meant to be their night as Beseq converted their only three chances to put a premature end to the Olim Rep Team's first season.

Olim Rep Squad: Simon Davies, Elias Sandler, Ari Kohn, Yoni Sidi, Stephen Caffrey, Motti Colman (capt), Tommy Schneider, Ariel Peretz, Lewis Kaye, Roy Ben Zehou, Adam Jaffe, Subs: Remy Ozougno, Martin Udeani, Tal Stern

Last updated: 12:51pm, May 24 2012