Double blow for Israel at Euro T20

By Danny Caro, July 20, 2011
Israel captain Herschel Gutman taking a diving catch

Israel captain Herschel Gutman taking a diving catch

Israel's ICC European Division 1 Tournament suffered a double blow as they were beaten by Denmark and Jersey in the space of a few hours.

Captained by Herschel Gutman, Israel were restricted to 94-9 from their allotted 20 overs.

Denmark cruised to an eight-wicket victory, reaching their target off 15 overs.

A second eight-wicket defeat followed at Farmers. Jersey won the toss and elected to field, with Israel making a steady start and reaching 43-2 in the seventh over.

But a devastating spell of seam bowling by veteran Tony Carlyon, who returned figures of 4-9 in four overs, and some sharp Jersey fielding then turned the game on its head.

Anthony Hawkins-Kay ran out danger man Eshkol Solomon with only one stump to aim at and captain Peter Gough took a fine one-handed catch to dismiss the captain Herschel Gutman, with Israel all out for 87 in the 20th over having lost their last six wickets for a miserly 30 runs.

In response, Jersey's openers put on 18 for the first wicket before Ed Farley was smartly caught by a diving Gutman at mid-off in the third over.

A 40-run partnership between Dean Morrison and Ryan Driver then put Jersey firmly in control, with the two left-handers happy to work the Israeli spinners for singles to keep the scoreboard ticking over.

Gutman, bowling offspin, then dismissed Driver in the 10th over but Morrison continued to bat with fluency, launching several sixes onto the bank at Farmers and bringing up his 50 with a flat six over mid-wicket.

Victory came in the 12th over as Morrison again cleared the ropes, securing an 8 wicket win for Jersey and leaving Morrison unbeaten on 64 off 44 balls, a knock that had included three fours and five sixes.

Israel take on Germany on Tuesday morning followed by France.

Israel: Herschel Gutman (Captain); Shailesh Bangeral; Nir Dokarker; Josh Evans; Danny Hotz; Daniel Hyman; Eitamar Kahamker; David Massil; Yefeth Nagavkar; Yaniv Razpurker; Eshkol Solomon; Eliezer Samson; Raymond Talkar; Shifron Waskar

Last updated: 3:53pm, July 20 2011