Bern wins top MSFL accolade

By Danny Caro, June 14, 2011

Daran Bern has been named JC MSFL Player of the Season.

Bern, 24, was a key figure as Redbridge Jewish Care A claimed the Premier Division title for the first time before going on to seal the double with victory in the JC Cyril Anekstein Cup final against Hendon.


Bern finished as the team's top-scorer and he topped the Premier Division goal charts. He also scored the opener in the League Cup final.

"It's been a fantastic season," said Bern. "I'd like to thank all my teammates. The team bonded so well. We were like a family.

"We've also got a fantastic manager who never has a bad word to say against anyone. I was also delighted that my mum and dad came to watch every game."

Redbridge enjoyed a clean sweep of the major individual awards. Midfield maestro Ben Sollosi, who will join Bern at next month's European Maccabi Games in Vienna, won Young Player of the Year.

Keeper Dan Lee, who is also preparing for the EMG, won the Safe Hands award, while Sam McCarthy won Manager of the Year.

Scottish official Warwick Blake, a Liverpool fan, was voted top referee for the second consecutive year.

JC MSFL Season 2010/11 Awards Roll of Honour

Player of Year: Daran Bern (Redbridge Jewish Care A)

Young Player of the Year: Ben Sollosi (Redbridge Jewish Care A)

Manager of the Year: Sam McCarthy (Redbridge Jewish Care A)

Safe Hands - top goalkeeper: Dan Lee (Redbridge Jewish Care A)

Divisional Player Awards

Division 1: Rik Sherman (NL Raiders B)

Division 2: Scott (Temple Fortune A)

Division 3: Dan Lipman (Glenthorne Utd A)

Division 4: Adam Speck (Blizzard Storm)

Referee of the Year: Warwick Blake

Best newcomer referee: Aaron Djanogly

Team secretary: Jonny Pearl (FC Team A)

Top-scorer: (Susan Lyons Memorial Trophy)
1. Fabio Revieccio (Glenthorne Utd) - 33 goals
2. Ben Simons (Faithfold C) - 29 goals
3. Jason Lindsay (Shirley Park) - 26 goals

Sportsmanship/best turnout (Ron Saunders Memorial Trophy): marks out of 15
1. Norstar A: 13.54
2. Catford & Bromley Maccabi: 13.44
3. Redbridge Jewish Care C: 13.37
4. Norstar B: 13.22
5. Hendon United Sports Club A: 13.06
6. North London Raiders B: 13.05

Maccabi Masters Referee of the Year: Nigel Kyte

Full review in Friday's JC

Last updated: 11:56am, June 15 2011