Danny Caro's Team of the Week - March 27

By Danny Caro, March 29, 2011

This week's top JC Team was arguably the toughest to pick this season, with some big performances in some important matches.

David Grossman (FC Team A) - "outstanding and commanding" display in the goalless draw against promotion rivals Brady. Brilliant performances from Ollie Segal, Jake Weiner and Jason Wood ensured that there was no way past him

John Lessem (Glenthorne United A) - "after his team went down to 10 men early on, Lessem stepped in at centre half and was solid, winning everything in the air and on the ground”

Darryl Green (Woodford Wanderers) - "striker filled in at centre back. Was solid all game and got the team playing good football from the back"

Alex Taylor (Faithfold A) - was an absolute rock at the heart of the Faithfold defence which restricted a Neasden team containing Gershfield, Cash and Ellis to just one goal from a set-piece. One of many heroes in the famous Superhoops shirt on the day

Eddie Manson (Oakwood) - impressed both managers with a commanding performance as he blunted the Raiders attack

Adam Rosenfeld (UJIA) - "worked the Catford full-back hard for 90 minutes"

Scott Ackerman (Inter Borehamwood) - scored one and involved in several others. Back to his best

Simon Levene (North West Neasden C) - "had an outstanding game in the middle and scored an excellent goal"

Toby Katz (North London Raiders C) - "a stunning winner with eight minutes to go and wonderful assist for Jamie Marks' first goal for the club. Toby ran the midfield for Raiders and put in a performance to savor and a goal worthy of winning any match"

Ben Isaacs (Temple Fortune A) - "back to his best with two quality strikes, including the second one where he ran half the length of the pitch, beating three defenders and popping it in the corner"

Daran Bern (Redbridge Jewish Care A) - scored two goals and took the game to Raiders at every opportunity. Will be the key man over the next couple of weeks when Redbridge attempts to seal a first-ever Premier Division title followed by the JC Cyril Anekstein Cup final



GK - Ben Law (Faithfold), Ryan Selsdon (Zig Zag), Jake Doffman (Brixton), Ed Bloom (NW Neasden C), Rob Levene (Team JLGB), Alex Kanter (NL Raiders C), David Grossman (FC Team A), Joe Levy (Inter Borehamwood), Mark Brahams (LM Lions C), Josh Shindler (Heath Banta)

Defenders - James Frenner, Alex Taylor, Paul Savitz (all Faithfold A), Ed Weicz (Brixton), Adam Levene (NW Neasden C), Lee Stone (Team JLGB), Josh Colman (NL Raiders C), John Lessem (Glenthorne A), Darryl Green (Woodford), Ollie Segal, Jake Weiner (both FC Team A), Ilan Scorah, Adam Levene, Eddie Manson (all Oakwood), Gideon Wetrin (Temple Fortune A)

Midfielders - Alex Levack, Paul Babai (both Faithfold A), James Levy (Zig Zag), Benji Gourgey, Simon Cohen, Simon Levene (all NW Neasden C), Josh Danan (Team JLGB), Toby Katz (NL Raiders C), Adam Rosenfeld (UJIA), Josh Cohen (Glenthorne A), Hadley Silver (Redbridge JC C), Jason Wood (FC Team A), Scott Ackerman, Joel Lassman (both Inter Borehamwood), Sam McCarthy (Redbridge JC A)

Strikers - Josh Toff, Joel Winton (both Zig Zag), Dan Oade (Shirley Park), Ben Isaacs (Temple Fortune A), Jonny Haik (Faithfold A), Steve Summers, Daran Bern (both Redbridge JC A)

Manager - Zuriel Solmon (Faithfold A), Oli Shorts (NL Raiders C), DJ Neal Cohen (Zig Zag), Louis Taylor (NW Neasden C)

Referee - Luke Eppel (Athletic Bilbaum vs Shirley Park)

Last updated: 10:49am, March 29 2011