All's Gold as Park boys dump Harmen out

By Danny Caro, November 4, 2010
Harmen’s Richard Starr tries to cut out a cross from Lions’ Hadley Silver

Harmen’s Richard Starr tries to cut out a cross from Lions’ Hadley Silver

Dan Oade, the Shirley Park manager, believes that his side's shock 2-1 win over Premier Division Southgate Harmen A was fully deserved.

Strikes from Nicky Plotnik and a late winner from Gideon Gold helped the Division Four minnows come following Lee Greenfield's opener for Harmen.

Oade said: "This was a solid performance across the pitch from Shirley and I'd like to thank all the lads for the contributing to our win. We knew that we were capable of causing an upset and that's what the cup is all about."

Stand-in Harmen boss Andy Okin said: "The best team won."

There was better luck for Harmen B as a Marc Cohen double steered them past London Maccabi Lions B.

Elsewhere in the JC Cyril Anekstein Cup, Hendon United A reached the third round after beating Premier Division rivals North London Raiders A on penalties. Adam Posner had put the Raiders ahead only for supersub Yishai Last to take the game into extra time. With no further goals, Raiders' David Rhodes and Matt Stock failed to hit the target with Greg Corin's successful spot-kick taking Hendon through.

Lorian Madanes (2), Jonny Haik and an own goal eased Faithfold A past L'Equipe.

An early strike from Bradley Sharp proved decisive as North West Neasden B edged past Temple Fortune A.

Yoni Ben Ari and Jason Wood were the marksmen as Division One leaders FC Team A edged past Glenthorne B in the Peter Morrison Trophy.

Camden Park climbed to fourth in JC MSFL Division One after rallying from 3-1 down with goals from Jamie Smith, Sam Bennett, Rob Hershkorn and Ben Harris against Lions C.

A solitary strike from Lewis Blitz helped North London Raiders B leapfrog Chigwell Athletic after eding out the East Londoners.

Gary Cohen and Josh Hershman exchanged goals as Montana Boca United A and Brady Maccabi shared the points. Match of the day saw Redbridge Jewish Care B and Oakwood share the points after an eight-goal thriller. Greg Bookman (2), Simon Bagel and an own goal accounted for the RJC strikes with Bobby Cousins (2), Eddie Manson and another own goal contributing for the Oaks.

Norstar A are top of Division Two after strikes from Zak McLeod and substitutes Ben Menahem and Adam Goldsmith wrapped up a 3-1 victory at FC Marylebone.

Brixton Old Boys continued their recovery with a 4-2 win over Hendon B. The in-form Jamie Kent (2), Dan Price and Sam Collins clinched the points for John Nitka's troops. Hendon's goals came through Chaim Gothold and Alex Rosenthal.

Faithfold B maintained their title push with a 6-2 win over FC Team B. Joe Levi (2), Dan Hildebrand (2), Adam Grossman and Nick Roman were the goal men.

Andy Levy, Alex Aviram and Dave Green helped Woodford Wanderers come from behind to beat Montana B whose goals came through Matt Elash and Andy Bloom.

A stunning 40-yard effort from Ryan Kangisser earned Catford & Bromley Maccabi their first win of the season as they beat Zig Zag 2-1 in Division Three. Joel Isaacs grabbed the other with Josh Toff on target for the Zeds.

Holy Mount Zion maintained good form with a 6-4 success over high-flying Faithfold C. Mariusz Mielniscczuk (2), Mikey Stirton, Guri Singer, Dan Marti and David Natas struck for Rob Lerner's men. Faithfold's strikes came through Josh Sugarbread, Adam Barton, Ben Simons and an own goal.

Glenthorne United A remain two points clear after seeing off Norstar B 3-1 with Adam Kantor, Jay Lawrence and Dan Lipman on the scoresheet. Josh Gaon replied.

Blizzard Storm moved joint-top of Division Four with Alex Rubin (3), Joel Kutner (2), Dean Shaw and an own goal easing them past Pinner JFC.

Trevor Silverman and Haki Elias fired Hendon C to a shock win over title-chasing Los Blancos.

Jacob Brunner (2), Edward Green and Simon Finkelstein steered Athletic Bilbaum to a 4-0 win at North London Raiders C.

Jewventus were held by Temple Fortune B. Adam Blass and Jeremy Kornhauser hit the target for Jewventus with Garry Simpson and Dean Ingram on target for Fortune.

Last updated: 4:48pm, November 4 2010