Hapoel Tel Aviv's title and cup

May 21, 2010

Hapoel Tel Aviv completed a league and cup double when they were crowned Israeli Premier Division champions with a stoppage time strike from Eran Zahavi earning them a 2-1 win over Betar Jerusalem.

In the most thrilling climax to an Israeli season, Hapoel's 10 men sealed the title on goal difference from Maccabi Haifa who were denied by heroics from Bnei Yehuda keeper Ran Kadoch, formerly of Barnet. Maccabi led the table by two points going into the final round of matches but they could only draw as Hapoel clinched the title for the 13th time. Hapoel will now represent Israel in the Champions League. Haifa, Maccabi Tel Aviv and Bnei Yehuda will play in the Europa League.

Last updated: 12:45pm, May 21 2010