Leeds Maccabi beat FC Team A

April 15, 2010
Mitch Young drives home a free-kick but Faithfold B had the last laugh

Mitch Young drives home a free-kick but Faithfold B had the last laugh

Leeds Maccabi proved too strong for FC Team A, running out 5-1 winners in the Peter Morrison Trophy. David Woolman, Josh Rose, Oshri Amar, Ben Ullmann and Adam Gilman were the marksmen. Leading 1-0, Rose missed a penalty before James Ryan hauled FC Team back on terms. But Leeds powered on to set up a quarter-final away at North West Neasden B.

Leeds acting manager James Warner said: "I thought we were absolutely outstanding. All in all this was a full and complete performance."

FC Team joint-manager Jonny Pearl commented: "Leeds are clearly a well run club with lots of ambition. They played some superb football and fully deserved their win. They would definitely be playing in the Premier Division if they were in MSFL."

Mike Pearson (3) and David Dinkin sent London Maccabi Lions A into the last eight after beating South Manx 4-2. Kane Swerner and Jamie Kent replied. Lions will play against North West Neasden A in the last eight.

North West Neasden A climbed to third in the JC MSFL Premier Division after claiming two wins over London Maccabi Lions B in a double-header. Elliot Stern hit the winner in part one. Jamie Shaw and Matt Sofier saw them home in the follow-up.

Sam Vangelder (2), Russell Leiter and Lewis Walker eased Redbridge Jewish Care A to a 4-1 win over Hendon United B. Amit Dinowitz replied.

Rob Sanford, Jonny Blain and Andrew McMaster kept North London Raiders A eight points clear at the top of Division One. They won a five-goal thriller against Oakwood for whom Anthony Kintish and Adam Levine found the net.

North West Neasden B maintained their title hopes with a 3-1 win over Redbridge Jewish Care B. Alex Bowman, Bruno Frankel and Ryan Sher were the scorers. Steve Summers pulled one back for RJC.

North London Raiders B have clinched promotion after beating Chigwell Athletic 3-1 Division Two. Nicky Woolf, Jonny Hesselberg and Gilad Kestenbaum were the scorers. Glenn Davis replied.

London Maccabi Lions C remain on course to finish in third after hitting relegated Holy Mount Zion for six. Paul Stein (3), Craig Henry, Ian Hartstone and Nick Kenton were the goal men.

Rob Benson (2), Richard Cooper and Gideon Wetrin helped Temple Fortune consolidate fourth spot with a 4-1 victory over Southgate Harmen B. Jonny Winton replied.

Faithfold B are safe after overcoming FC Team B 3-1. Nick Roman, Doron Hershkorn and David Marcus were the goal-scoring heroes. Team replied via a Mitch Young free-kick.

Montana Boca United B moved top of Division Three on goal difference after hammering Catford & Bromley Maccabi 8-0. Jeff Gotch (3), Mark Simons (2), Anthony Goodmaker, Yoni Raeburn and Daniel Major, with his first goal for seven years, inflicted further misery on the relegated Cats.

A second half treble from Mitch Hahn set up Woodford Wanderers' 5-0 mauling of FC Heath. Jerome Marks and Alex Aviram had opened the floodgates.

Strikes from Zak McLeod and Sammy Kalms earned title-chasing UJS Norstar A the points against FC Marylebone.

David Blackman and Kane Hopps exchanged goals as Glenthorne United drew with Division Four promotion rivals Redbridge C.

UJIA climbed into third above beating Team JLGB 5-2. Matty Radstone (2) and Tony Plaskow (2) were among the scorers. Matt Frohlich and Justin Freedman netted for JLGB.

A six-goal salvo from Charlie Bernstein inspired Real Life to a 9-1 demolition of HMH. Eddie Lewin, Jonny Bruck and Jake Masteran completed the rout. Josh Fox snatched a consolation for HMH. Gideon Lipman (2), Josh Aziz, Dov Birnbaum and Haki Elias eased Hendon D to a 5-1 success over Jewventus.

Jordan Hurwitz (2), Michael Gaventa and Joel Kutner steered Blizzard Storm to a 4-2 victory over Pinner JFC. Jonathan Kay and Josh Landy replied.

Last updated: 11:14am, April 16 2010