JC Cyril Anekstein Cup: the quarter finals

By Danny Caro, March 11, 2010
Anthony Kintish

Anthony Kintish

London Maccabi Lions A, Lions B, Oakwood and Montana Boca United A have booked their places in the last eight of the JC Cyril Anekstein Cup.

Goals from Mike Pearson (2) and Ricky Kennet helped Lions A past Redbridge B. Lions B overcame top-flight rivals Hendon B 3-2. Ben Kon and an own goal put Hendon in the box seat, but Jonathan Green, James Stanley and Ricky Rinder sent Lions through.

Oakwood hotshot Anthony Kintish destroyed South Manx, claiming eight goals in a 12-2. Rob Davidson, Vic Librae, Dan Ash and Dan Geey grabbed the others to set up a trip to Faithfold A.

Simon Peterman (2) and Jason Wood earned Montana A a plum draw against North West Neasden A after beating Red Sea 3-2. Red Sea had a player sent off.

Ben Ellis and Matt Sofier were on target as Neasden A got their JC MSFL Premier Division challenge back on track with a 2-0 win at joint-leaders Faithfold A. Yishai Last (2) and Avidan Last were on the mark as Hendon A beat Redbridge A 3-1. Sam McCarthy replied.

A lone effort from top-scorer Jonny Blain sent North London Raiders A clear in Division One after they beat promotion rivals Brady Maccabi. Neasden B needed a scrambled effort from Danny Daggers to salvage a draw at Southgate Harmen A. Jonathan Hirshler had put Harmen ahead with a free-kick. Camden Park climbed to fourth after taking six points from a double-header against Brixton Old Boys. Michael Goldberg, Gideon Barnett, Russell Greenfield and Lee Levinson were on the mark in a 4-1 win. Adam Savitz and Paul Stein steered Lions C to second in Division Two after beating Rapid Banta.

FC Team A boosted their title hopes with a double-header win over Temple Fortune. James Ryan (2), Danny Moss and an own goal saw them win the opener 4-1. Josh Laurier and Matt Drage wrapped up a 2-1 win in part two. Rob Benson scored both Fortune goals.

Dave Marcus and Adam Grossman earned Faithfold B a 2-1 win at Harmen B. Simon White replied.

FC Team B continued their resurgence with two wins over Chigwell Athletic. Richard Salmon (2), Freddie Marks and Dom Berko hit the target in a 4-2 win. This was followed by a 5-3 victory with Salmon (3), Marks and Berko doing the damage. Glenn Michaels scored four times over the two games.

Woodford Wanderers went top of Division Three with four points from a double-header against FC Marylebone. They had a man sent off in both games and after a goalless first, won the second 2-0 thanks to Darryl Green and Andrew Levy. Montana B slipped to second despite beating Faithfold C 5-3. Matt Elash (3) and Adam Lenz were among the scorers. Ben Simons (2) and Steve Moss replied.

Eli Houri (2), Josh Green, Phil Peters and Jamie Freed helped UJS Norstar A thump Catford & Bromley. Matt Gilberry, Josh Lewis and Craig Rosenblatt steered L'Equipe to a 3-0 success over FC Heath. Hadley Newman, Benjy Israel and Zvi Noe earned Hendon C a 3-2 win at Zig Zag, Neil Marcus and Dan Ezra replied.

A hat-trick from David Blackman put Glenthorne United top of Division Four after they beat Blizzard Storm 3-1.

Norstar B claimed a win and a draw against title rivals Team JLGB. The first match finished 1-1. Maurice Franks (2), Adam Pike and Adam Lipman found the net as they won part two 4-0.

Danny Feuer (2) and Dan Charki helped HMH to their first win of the campaign as they dented UJIA's promotion hopes with a 3-2 win. UJIA won the rematch 5-1 with goals from Ollie Henry (2), Gil Jennings and Matt Radstone.

Edward Green (3), Nick Schinder, Rob Rodney, Simon Finkelstein, Alex Foch, Max Green and Jacob Brunner nailed Athletic Bilbaum's 9-3 rout of Real Life. Eddie Lewin (2) and Wayne Davidson replied.

Gabriel John, Aron Taylor and supersub Reuben John earned Jewventus a 3-2 win over Hendon D. Gideon Lipman and Moishe Noe replied. Jake Sanders, Kane Hopps, Elliot Castle, David Castle, Lee Grodent and Zach Forest eased Redbridge C to a 6-1 win over Pinner. Debutant James Press grabbed a consolation.

Last updated: 2:54pm, March 11 2010