Glenthorne A clinch Masters title

By Jeremy Silverstone, May 19, 2013

Glenthorne United A ended Brady Maccabi's five-year dominance of the Maccabi Masters Football League title by securing the championship with a 2-0 win over Southgate Harmen.

Strikes from Danny Sugarman and Jason Levy sparked the celebrations for the east Londoners.

Division Two title hopefuls EDRS Stonegrove suffered another surprise defeat as they went down 2-1 against Hendon Harriers.

Goals from David Hyams and Richard Reuben means that any slim hopes EDRS had of winning the championship may now have ended. Martin Seifert registered for EDRS.

Cup winners London Maccabi Lions remain on course for the double after hitting Brady Maccabi B for six.

David Kyte, David Kyte, Lawrence Leigh, Marc Morris (2), Mark Jacob and Simon Barr were the marksmen for the Lions.

Following their victory in the Henry Swerner MMFL Cup Final last week, Lions are assured of at least a play‐off place in the title race, and need just one point from their remaining two games to be confirmed as outright winners.


Glenthorne United A 2 Southgate Harmen 0

EDRS Stonegrove 1 Hendon Harriers 2
London Maccabi Lions 6 Brady Maccabi B 0



Division One
1. Glenthorne Utd A (Champions) Pl. 14, Pts. 22
2. NL Raiders A Pl. 14, Pts. 19
3. Brady Maccabi A Pl. 14, Pts. 19
4. Southgate Harmen Pl. 14, Pts. 14
5. Scrabble Pl. 15, Pts. 6
6. Waldaf Town Pl. 15 Pts. 6

* South Mancs have folded


Division Two
1. LM Lions Pl. 16, Pts. 27
2. St John's Wood Tigers Pl. 17, Pts. 25
3. EDRS Stonegrove Pl. 17, Pts. 24
4. Glenthorne Utd B Pl. 16, Pts. 23
5. Hendon Harriers Pl. 17, Pts. 16
6. Glenthorne Utd C Pl. 17, Pts. 14
7. Temple Fortune Pl. 16, Pts. 13
8. Brady B Pl. 18, Pts. 12
9. Marshside Pl. 16, Pts. 11
10. Ashlodge CPC Pl. 18, Pts. 3

Last updated: 12:31pm, May 20 2013