South Manchester dominate JC Northern Football awards

By James Masters, June 6, 2012

South Manchester Sports Club 1st dominated the JC Northern Football Awards as manager Darryl Lee and striker Adam Lavin scooped the top prizes.

South Manchester boss Lee was named JC Northern Manager of the Year after leading his side to a league and cup double and his side was also hailed as JC Northern Team of the Season.

Lee’s men won the Accountants League Premier Division and the Manchester Handicup with top scorer Lavin netting a phenomenal 38 goals.

Lavin was named JC Northern Player of the Year and pipped Leeds Maccabi striker Dave Woolman to the Golden Boot by just a single goal.

Lee, who has stood down from his post as manager, is now hoping his side’s achievements will help him land the England job for the Maccabiah Games in 2013.

“I am personally very proud to have won the award ,” he said.

“I would like to thank my assistant manager Steve Cantor, my coach Chris O’Brien, my chairman Jonny Davis and of course the players.

“As well as well as being good players, were the nicest group I have ever had the privilege of working with.

“Loz Newman, my captain, supported me throughout the campaign and was always a key driving force, whilst Adam Lavin, who scored 38 goals, was sensational.

“I am not sure whether I will be managing a club side again but the international side is always of interest so let’s see what happens after the Maccabiah in 2013.”

In the MJSL section, Haroldeans striker Bobby Abrams was named as both the JC Player and Striker of the Year with his boss Ivan Gee taking the managerial gong.

The Merseysiders were also named MJSL Team of the Year after cruising to the league title, while Paul Harris, Zach Goodman and Abrams were all included in the MJSL all-star XI.

Republic of Mancunia star Dylan Sidle was named as the JC Young Player of the Year following another impressive season and is named in both the MJSL and JC Northern all-star sides.

Manchester Maccabi 3rd goalkeeper Josh Samberg was named as the JC Northern goalkeeper of the Year, while Sidle took the defender’s award and Oakhill’s Marc Woolfe the midfielder’s gong.

Manager of the Year: Darryl Lee (South Manchester SC 1st)

Player of the Year: Adam Lavin (South Manchester SC 1st)

MJSL Manager of the Year: Ivan Gee (Haroldeans)

MJSL Player of the Year: Bobby Abrams (Haroldeans)

Golden Boot Award: Adam Lavin (South Manchester SC 1st)

MJSL Golden Boot Award: Bobby Abrams (Haroldeans)

Young Player of the Year: Dylan Sidle (Republic of Mancuia 1st)

‘Safe Hands’ Award: Josh Samberg (Manchester Maccabi 3rd)

Defender of the Year: Ashley Loofe (Manchester Maccabi 1st)

MJSL defender of the Year: Dylan Sidle (Republic of Mancunia 2nd)

Midfielder of the Year: Louie Basso (Manchester Maccabi 1st)

MJSL midfielder of the Year: Marc Woolfe (Oakhill)

Striker of the Year: Adam Lavin (South Manchester SC 1st)

MJSL striker of the year: Bobby Abrams (Haroldeans)

Goal of the Season: Steven Berke (Leeds Maccabi 1st)

Team of the Season: South Manchester SC 1st

Last updated: 4:09pm, June 6 2012