Smart move

December 31, 2008
Follow The JC on Twitter

Smarties are kosher once more. They have been off-limits to kosher consumers since the early 1990s when the then makers, Rowntree, informed the Beth Din that red Smarties were coloured with insect-derived cochineal. Now that non-kosher carminic acid has been removed, the London Beth Din says Smarties are now permitted.

    Last updated: 9:32am, December 31 2008