The new Jewish leaders

November 4, 2010

The Jewish Leadership Council has elected new trustees this week, including several fresh faces at its top table.

Taking their seats are Bicom chairman Poju Zabludowicz, Masorti co-chair Bill Benjamin - whose organisation only joined
the JLC recently - and Stephen Lewis and James Libson, who jointly represent the New Leadership Network,
a group fostered by the JLC to groom leaders for British Jewry.

Re-elected to the inner circle were previous JLC executive members Vivian Wineman (Board of Deputies), Gerald Ronson (Community Security Trust), Mick Davis (UJIA), Nigel Layton (World Jewish Relief) and Simon Hochhauser (United Synagogue).

The nine trustees were chosen by ballot from the now 20-strong members of the JLC council.

The election is the first after the JLC's restructuring to help give it greater legitimacy within the Jewish community. As well as the council members, there are 10 non-voting presidents who act in an advisory capacity.

Last updated: 4:49pm, November 4 2010