BNP banned from Parliament

October 21, 2009

Following action by John Mann MP and a vote in the House of Commons, MEPs including the BNP’s Nick Griffin and Andrew Brons will be denied Parliamentary passes and access to House of Commons facilities thus putting an end to a 20 year precedent.

Mr Mann’s early day motion was signed by dozens of parliamentary colleagues. It noted that while Euro MPs had traditionally been granted passes to the Houses of Parliament, the reverse was not true for UK MPs trying to access European parliamentary services.

Harriet Harman, leader of the House of Commons, was reported to have said that the decision applied to all parties and was made after a review of the rules relating to passes, and concern about the pressure on facilities.

John Mann MP, chairman of the All-Party Group Against Antisemitism, said: “This stops the BNP parading round here as if they're legitimate politicians.”

Last updated: 2:29pm, October 21 2009