Guardian omits Rabin, Peres, Begin from Nobel list

By Jessica Elgot, October 9, 2009
The Guardian Nobel Prize winner list, where Peres and Rabin are omitted.

The Guardian Nobel Prize winner list, where Peres and Rabin are omitted.

Complaints to The Guardian newspaper over an incomplete list of Nobel peace prize winners have led to a hasty amendment on the paper's website.

The incomplete list was up for four hours, despite comments below the list which pointed out the omissions of Yitzak Rabin, Menachem Begin and Shimon Peres.

Immediately following the announcement of President Barack Obama's win of the 2009 Nobel peace prize, Guardian news editor Simon Rogers posted what he claimed was "every peace prize winner ever", stating that the information came from the website

But the Guardian list omitted Israeli winners Shimon Peres, Yitzhak Rabin and Menachem Begin.

Menachem Begin, the sixth Prime Minister of Israel, jointly won the Nobel peace prize in 1978 for signing a peace treaty with Egypt with President of Egypt Anwar Sadat. Only Sadat was listed by the Guardian.

The Guardian committed the same error by omitting Israeli political leaders Shimon Peres and Yitzhak Rabin, who won the peace prize jointly with Yasir Arafat in 1994.

Again, Arafat was listed by the Guardian as a winner but both Peres and Rabin were omitted.

A Guardian spokeswoman said: ""The aim of the Guardian Data Blog is to give users access to datasets from around the world on a wide variety of topics.

The list also omits Begin in 1978

The list also omits Begin in 1978

"For the Nobel Peace Prize winners list, we used data from However, there was a technical issue during the data transfer from the site, which meant that many of the names of the joint winners of the Nobel Peace Prize were accidentally omitted, although the country of origin of the winners was not. This has now been corrected."

Last updated: 9:45am, October 20 2010