Likud names revealed

December 8, 2008
Benjamin Netanyahu

Benjamin Netanyahu

Likud chair Gideon Sa'ar has taken second place on the party's Knesset list after party chief Binyamin Netanyahu, followed by MK Gilad Erdan into third place in yesterday’s primaries.

Likud could now sweep the coming Knesset elections, according to recent polls. Those who secured high places on the list stand to gain senior government positions.

Netanyahu spoke after the 41 candidates were called to the stage, announcing, "Friends, today we chose a new leadership for Israel."
Among them are MK Reuven Rivlin who came in fourth in yesterday’s polling and former science minister Bennie Begin, who was fifth.

The list continued with Moshe Kahlon, MK Silvan Shalom and former IDF chief of General Staff Lt.-Gen. (res) Moshe Ya'alon in eighth place.

But his bid to cast Likud as Israel's moderate consensus party was dealt a blow as hardliners dominated the top 10 slots, and far-right rival Moshe Feiglin score well enough to be all but assured of a place in the next Knesset.

Last updated: 2:22pm, December 9 2008